Federal Skilled Worker

This program is designed for the skilled workers with a foreign work experience interested in migrating to Canada permanently. 

The Government of Canada imposed the Express Entry Immigration system under the Economic Class including the Federal Skilled Worker Program, dated January 1, 2015.

Federal Skilled Workers are persons with 

  • Suitable Education
  • Work Experience
  • Specified Age 
  • Language abilities according to one of Canada’s official languages and 
  • Selected candidates to apply for permanent residence under the Express Entry Immigration system .

Under this program, the Federal Skilled Workers submit an express of interest profile to the express entry pool. They are required to match across 347 eligible occupations and meet the minimum requirements before submitting the application. Then a comprehensive ranking system will be employed to rank the candidates. A candidate with the highest rank will be selected for an invitation to apply for permanent residence. Once a candidate receives an application, it is mandatory to submit the application within 60 days. 

Below are the requirements that Federal Skilled Worker applicants needs to qualify for admission to the Express Entry Pool:

Essential Conditions:

  • Hold one-year of continuous full-time paid work experience or a similar in part-time continuous employment within the previous 10 years as per one of 347 eligible occupations listed under the applicable National Occupational Classification system; AND
  • The work experience is mandatory to be classified as one of the type  within the meaning of the National Occupational Classification system; 
  • Skill Type 0 (Managerial Occupations), 
  • Skill Level A (Professional Occupations), or 
  • Skill Level B (Technical Occupations and Skilled Trades); AND
  • Sufficient score points under the skilled worker point grid based on six selection factors. Presently, the pass mark is 67 points;
  • Take a language test  from a recognized third party and display intermediate-level language skills in English or French relating to the Canadian Language Benchmark of 7.
  • Exhibit suitable settlement funding;
  • Go through a successful security background and medical examination.